Writing. Waiting.

I have a short piece out on submission to one of the big SF names. They have a looong turnaround, which I knew when I submitted it, but I also knew that waiting is a core part of writing.

So I told myself I could look in January if I hadn’t heard anything.

About a month ago I started checking my spam folder every few days. You know. Just in case.

Then about 2 weeks ago I began checking my inbox just that little bit more obsessively.

A few days ago I caved and logged on to the website to check the status.

Turns out I’m only two months into an expected 4 month turnaround (it was 3 when I submitted, hence the January “permission to look” deadline.)

So I’m back to waiting. End of February I’ll look again.

Unless I get itchy fingers before then.

I’d better get back to writing. At least it takes my mind of these things!

 

 

 

Published by

Leila

Mum, writer, gamer, geek. Trying to master the first two whilst squeezing in time for the latter.

3 thoughts on “Writing. Waiting.”

  1. Thanks for sharing the waiting experience. It’s been a long time since I’ve tried to get a short sf story published. I’ve got one that I was told (by an editor) should have a good chance, but he wasn’t really into short stories, he said. The blog-story I’m writing now does get a few readers, but it’s going to need some serious plot work and cutting of rants if it’s ever going to see the light of day.

    Have you read much about publishing on Amazon? And have you read, “The Story Grid,” by Shawn Coyne?

    I agree, getting back to writing is the key to sanity in this line of work. Best of luck to you!

    Like

    1. I’ve heard about the story grid, but not looked into it properly. What I have seen looks really good, though, so may have to investigate further. I find I do better just writing out my first draft and then trying to work out structural things after (though I’m only on my second book, so this isn’t exactly from reams of experience!). I have used K.M. Weiland’s Outlining Your Novel workbook, though, and have her Structuring Your Novel one for when I finish the first writethrough, so hoping that will be as useful. I’ve not really looked into self publishing properly as I’ve not got enough of a quality that I think it’s worthwhile putting out there yet, plus I think the traditional route is going to suit me better, at least for now. That’s if they’ll have me, of course!

      Good luck with your own work. It’s hard cutting and re-writing and re-structuring, I always have a few days/weeks (depending on length of work) feeling really indignant that there’s so much to do, but so satisfying when it’s done and you can see the improvements. Have you tried the Share Your Work forums at absolutewrite.com? They’ve been invaluable for me honing my short stories, and even just reading other’s work being critiqued helps me understand the craft much better.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hadn’t heard of absolutewrite.com. Thanks, I’ll check them out. I posted part of an earlier draft of my current in -progress novel on thenextbigwriter.com and found the feedback helpful after I cut the chapter size from 5,000 to less than 1,000 words. No one there reads long chapters it turns out. I was so discouraged until I figured out the problem.
        I’ve read a few books and bought a few courses regarding Amazon publishing and indie writing. I’m heading that direction, but the stuff I’m writing wouldn’t have a chance with a traditional publisher, anyway. I keep thinking I should write some nonfiction. It’s easier, but it lacks the magic feeling of creating characters. Good luck! Keep at it. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

