I’ve got the hump. Rewriting is hard.

A somewhat token update, as it’s been too long, but my brain is still messy with sleep deprivation, so apologies if things don’t quite make sense…

I’m making slow progress with my second draft. Like with the first draft I’ve struggled to get a foothold to work from. I find I’m reluctant to launch into a process that feels like it will be a waste of time, so I’m going over my “safe” bits and hoping that clarity will come.

It’s been pretty up and down, not least with my youngest starting nursery, the end of maternity leave homing in, general exhaustion, lack of inspiration…

I keep thinking I need a break, either a few days’ recovery or rest period where I do nothing on it. 2 days ago I declared I was done with writing, being totally inadequate to the job. The next day I was back tapping away and have to admit my hypocrisy to my long suffering husband. So I keep finding myself pottering; editing or writing. Drip drip drip every day, never quite sure the bucket isn’t just filling with mud.

I’ve mostly been playing with pov. I found myself writing in first person present tense, no less. I was surprised because I’m not a big fan of reading it. But it felt…right. The writing is better and clearer and reads more naturally. Because I know (vaguely) where things are going I’m less worried about careering ahead than during my first draft and have been taking the time to rewrite different start points, perspectives, motivations and outcomes. Which I suppose is about as good a use of a second draft as any, even if it does feel slow.

Now if I could only get enough sleep to stop my brain from dribbling out through my ears I might be able to do it at a pace that will get this draft done before I go back to work in a few weeks.

I might just go for a nap first…

Published by

Leila

Mum, writer, gamer, geek. Trying to master the first two whilst squeezing in time for the latter.

One thought on “I’ve got the hump. Rewriting is hard.”

Leave a Reply

